Iga Swiatek, ranked first in the world, was awarded the WTA Player of the Year for 2022.


Iga Swiatek, the current world No. 1, received the WTA Player of the Year award for the first time in her career. The tour’s top performer for matches won, awards won, and finals reached was the 2020 Newcomer of the Year.

Swiatek won eight tournaments during his excellent season, including two Grand Slam titles. She won the French Open in June and the US Open in September, becoming the first woman since Angelique Kerber in 2016 to win two Grand Slams in a single season.

The longest unbeaten streak in women’s tennis since Steffi Graf won 66 matches in a row in 1989 and 1990, she won 67 matches and amassed a 37-match winning streak from February to July.

During her winning streak, Swiatek noted in a video interview with the Associated Press, “I felt like everything clicked this season.” And I didn’t anticipate being that constant.

The Polish player, age 21, excelled on clay in 2022 but needs to continue to develop on grass. Against Alizé Cornet in the third round at Wimbledon, her winning streak came to a stop. In November, Swiatek posted a humorous video on Instagram to mark the end of the season. The video had references to the Lion King. There is a joke about how “the little black area” of grass doesn’t exactly belong to her at the conclusion of the video titled “Queen of Tennis.”

Beatriz Haddad Maia won the Most Improved Player of the Year title, making history as the first Brazilian woman to receive a WTA player accolade since the awards’ introduction in 1977. For the third time overall and for the second consecutive season, Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova won Doubles Team of the Year.

Complete list of WTA honors:

Doubles player of the year is Iga Swiatek. Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova are named the year’s best team.
Beatriz Haddad was named the year’s most improved athlete. Maia
Zheng Qinwen is the year’s top newcomer.
Tatjana Maria is the Comeback Player of the Year.

WTA players’ selections for the 2022 Player Service Awards are as follows:

Krantzcke, Karen Gabriela Dabrowski received the Ons Jabeur Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award for good sportsmanship.
Coach of the Year for Maria Sakkari, as chosen by WTA-registered coaches, is David Witt, winner of the Jerry Diamond ACES Award.